Hired!

Well, I am past due on sharing the news that I have been hired as the Head Coach of Sacramento Synchronized Swim Team!

Here’s you know, us:

dsc_0055

I could not be more excited to be here. This opportunity presented itself at the perfect time. After floating around Los Angeles for a few months post-Rio, I was ready for my next project to focus on. I am grateful to Sonia Susac and Robin Mizell for having the vision to bring me in, and to Myriam Glez for making me aware of the opening and providing a strong reference for the position.

Sacramento Synchro started in 1985 and just celebrated their 30 year anniversary. There is quite a rich legacy. I feel honored to be a part of it. Furthermore, we have just transitioned facilities from a local high school to Arden Hills Country Club. Arden Hills was founded as a tennis and swimming club in 1954 by Sherm Chavoor, who trained Mark Spitz leading up to his 7-gold-medal run in the 1972 Olympics! I feel inspired just being there. It is filled with photos of Olympians who have trained there (33 medals total – 22 of them gold!) and the member’s lounge is covered with newspaper articles from Arden Hills athletics over the years.

It has been a huge transition to a new role . But, I can see how everything I have done in my Synchro career up until now has prepared me exactly for this role. It feels like coming home.

Thank you Sacramento Synchro and thank you Arden Hills!

Visit Sacramento Synchro’s new website at sacsynchro.com. Andย Arden Hillsย (the swimming page is under maintenance but we will get up there soon!)

About Ali Williams

an athlete with really big dreams...blessed with the best support i could ever ask for...family, friends, and doctors.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hired!

  1. Laura kishaba says:

    Congratulations Ali !!!๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰
    I am so happy for you ๐Ÿ˜€
    ๐Ÿ˜˜Laura

  2. Dirk williams says:

    I remember age 11 in Los Angeles Pool at Olympic site, watching you swim for the first time to Mission Impossible. Amazing then and now. Very proud dad. Good job and see me next time you are at UCLA. 1805 Boelter Hall, there every day.

  3. Ludivine Perrin-Stsepaniuk says:

    I’m so happy for you Alli! This team is very lucky to have you.

Leave a Reply

